Jess, 22, passionate about people maintaining good mental health and through personal experience has recently started campaigning and volunteering in mental health projects across the city.

Who’s your favourite artist?
Coldplay!! I’ve seen them twice live and they are just the best! Never fail to make me cry or dance around when I need it 🙂

Where would you like to travel?
I’d love to go backpacking round India and to Holi! Also to Thailand and South America but I think I’ll have to do some saving before all of that!

What pets do you have?
I have a three year old chocolate lab called Duke who still acts like a puppy, a black and white cat called Barney and a hive of bees



We are a group of young people from Leeds and surrounding areas, working to educate people about mental health, hoping to reduce stigma in the process. We’re lead by Emma who works for Space 2. We’re very friendly, so if you’d like to contact us, just drop us a message.



Emma works for the Leeds based charity Space2 Leeds and is the Project Coordinator for Shout Out Leeds. Emma has a professional and personal interest in mental health and she is extremely passionate about supporting young people to develop, grow and get their voices heard around the city of Leeds.

1. Why do you continue to work in the mental health area?
I have worked in mental health now for 10 years, my reasons are both professional and personal….I just feel there is not enough support and advice out there for young people on this topic and wish there was! So I continue to do the work and try and push the agenda forward.

2. Who keeps you motivated to do the work?
ALL the wonderful young people and volunteers I work alongside…they inspire and drive me to do good!

3. Do you have lived experience of mental health problems?
Yes! for 18 years now I have taken medication for my mental health to help me function each day – I have also learnt to ‘manage’ my mental health better. Life is a journey and you learn as you go sometime.

4. What’s one random fact about yourself?
I would like to have a dog, but don’t have enough time to look after one properly…but definitely will get one when older and retire!

5. What would be your 5-a-day for your mental health?
Pray/meditate, sleep, be aware of my internal thoughts, eat chocolate when I feel like and go for big walks in the countryside.

Shout Out Leeds is always looking for new volunteers and young people to get involved so please feel free to contact us!



Emily is very passionate about mental health campaigning. She loves music, gigs, and guitars. Her life consists of green tea and books and she has dreams of traveling and seeing the world.


Carrie is passionate about dispelling the myths surrounding mental ill health and feels it’s important to allow people to be open about their experiences.

What is your proudest accomplishment?
Getting onto my Physics degree. Because of health problems I left school with few GCSEs and no A-Levels. I’m proud of how hard I’ve worked to follow my passion. It hasn’t been easy.

What is your favourite book to read?
The Catcher in the Rye

Who is your favourite author?
Chuck Palahniuk

Where do you see yourself in five years?
The future is a difficult thing to think about, but I’d hope to be finishing a PhD in Physics and going into a job I love.

Are you an introvert or an extrovert?
Probably an introvert as I spend (and enjoy) a lot of time on my own, but I have my extroverted moments!





Alex has a strong interest in both  mental health and psychology since he began his psychology degree in Spain four years ago. He tried to find a job  in Spain but couldn’t find anything he was passionate about so is now here in Leeds trying to make a difference in the community, meet new people (and develop level of English), help others to develop themselves, and of course, to better himself both as a person and a professional.

Who is your hero?
It´s not my hero but I really admire Will Smith, not as a person because I don´t know him but I really like his philosophy of life (you can see what I´m talking about on YouTube).

What is your favorite thing about your career?
The fact that the main duty is in doing your best to help others in different ways.

What is your favourite music?
I love almost all kinds of music from classical music to hard rock. I also  love Elvis, Chuck Berry, and old music from the 30’s and 40’s. Listening music for me is a “must do “during the day. I don’t know what would happen to me if I was deaf.

What are your hobbies?
Running  and reading (keys of life for some) , play (or something similar XD) and watch basketball matches, write short tales when the inspiration comes to me (not very often) and play board games and sometimes video games with my friends.

When did you first star volunteering with Shout Out ?
Since 11th March of 2016 and counting. =)

What is your favourite quote?
“Love is like a pear… try to define the form of a pear “ Jaskier, a character of the novels of Andrzej Sapkowski.